Image

Meditation is a practice in which an individual trains the mind or induces a mode of consciousness, either to realize some benefit or as an end in itself.

The term meditation refers to a broad variety of practices (much like the term sports) that includes techniques designed to promote relaxation, build internal energy or life force (qikiprana, etc.) and develop compassion, love, patience, generosity and forgiveness. A particularly ambitious form of meditation aims at effortlessly sustained single-pointed concentration single-pointed analysis, meant to enable its practitioner to enjoy an indestructible sense of well-being while engaging in any life activity. (Wikipedia)

The first time I started with meditation was when I was around 4 years old and started with my Taekwondo (is a martial art originating in Korea. It combines combat and self-defense techniques) classes and without realising that it was about meditation but I liked everything about it. I did taekwondo for 7 years and got fed up with it. Tragic! I was one belt away from the “black belt”!!! Who quits at that stage!? Anyway, my next serious approach was when I did the Yoga Teacher Training. We meditated around 20 minutes every morning at 6 am for 3 weeks. At the beginning I thought it was very difficult and didn’t really know if I was doing it right. During meditation my thoughts were all over the place and never seemed to come to a rest but gradually it got better and I really enjoyed the meditation. When you have a continuous practise you understand how to develop compassion, love, patience, generosity and forgiveness through meditation and I want more of this.

Now I started practising Yoga every morning at 6.30 and the last 10 minutes it’s meditation time. My goal is to extend the meditation time to half an hour but that will take a while. My next step is to build myself a shrine,

Image

I want one. I want it to become more of a ritual.

