How did I start with Yoga?

I’ve been exercising all my life.

When I was a kid living in Mexico I did Gymnastics, Swimming, Karate. Then we moved to Germany and I started with Tennis, Field Hockey and when I started working there wasn’t the time anymore. Especially because I worked in advertising and that means you don’t have time for anything else than work, eat and sleep ūüėČ One day a friend of mine asked me to go and try this yoga class with her. I was in my end twenties and didn’t know anything about Yoga. I thought it must be something really boring but just for the fun of it I went. It was a Bikram Yoga class.

Bikram Yoga¬†is a system of Yoga¬†that¬†Bikram Choudhury¬†synthesized from traditional¬†Hatha Yoga¬†techniques and popularized beginning in the early 1970s.¬†All Bikram Yoga classes run for 90 minutes and consist of the same series of 26 postures and 2 breathing exercises.¬†Bikram Yoga is ideally practiced in a room heated to 105¬įF (‚Čą 40.6¬įC) with a humidity of 40%. – Wikipedia

After that Yoga class I didn’t know any better. I didn’t know if I liked it or not. I didn’t know if I felt any different than before, I just was surprised how hard it was, that there wasn’t any strange ‘om shanti’ singing, that I sweat like a pig and that I had sore¬†muscles the next day, which I really liked! I didn’t go again but it stayed in my head for almost a year till something in my head and heart told me to go and try it again. I guess I felt ¬†attracted to it because it reminded me of my Karate times. Yoga and Karate for me had something in common. It must have been this THING with the power of the mind. I went and it was a little bit better, so I went back a few days later and it felt so much better. The feeling after the class, just amazing. So light, free,peaceful and powerful at the same time. I went 3 times a week for about 3 years and then i started to try other kind of Yoga classes all araised from Hatha Yoga with lots of sun salutations. I loved it.

Why did I love it?

  • because I got the body I always wanted
  • it gave me more self-discipline
  • it showed me to know and feel my body
  • it got me to eat healthier
  • because everytime I do Yoga I go into that place. It’s peaceful, it’s now, only me without any problems at that very precise moment, which gives me love, energy,courage and strength to go back to my everyday life.

5 years after starting doing Yoga regulary I decided to do a Teacher Training. I didn’t know if I wanted to be a Yoga teacher at that time I was going through a period of grief but I thought it would be good to do, learn more about something I love, deepen my practise and see what time brings. I did the Inspya Teacher Training

RYT 200 Yoga Alliance 200 hour accreditation.  Inspya Yoga certificate  200 hour accreditation. 

It was a wonderful experience, which helped me through taugh times and at the end I started teaching and actually enjoying it very much! 2010 I moved to England and I’m not teaching at the moment but practising my own Yoga and maybe in the near future I will be teaching again.

I want to give and share, namaste

